Pizza night!

My husband had a change in schedule today which meant it would be just me and the kids for dinner. I don’t know about you, but I have a real hard time cooking big meals for just me and the kids. While I was thinking of what fun kid food I could make for dinner tonight, I remembered that I picked up a really great, fast, recipe for whole wheat and honey pizza dough in, of all places, the WinCo bulk section. Yet another reason I love the WinCo bulk section. I ended up cooking it on the grill rather than in the oven, which I think gives it extra good flavor. Here is the recipe for the dough:DSC_0965

  • 1 pkg active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp honey

Preheat over to 350. (I turned on all three grill burners on to high) In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 min. In a large bowl combine flour, wheat germ, and salt. Make a well in the middle and add honey and yeast mixture. Stir well to combine. Cover and set in a warm place to rise for a few min. Roll dough on a floured surface, transfer to a baking sheet, and dock the dough with a fork. Bake for 5 to 10 min, or until desired crispiness. (I turned one burner of the grill was off and the middle one to low. I then placed the pizza, which I made into 4 small pizza’s rather than 1 large pizza, on the cool side of the grill. I let them “bake” for about 5 min.DSC_0969

After baking the crust I had help putting on the sauce and  pre-sauteed toppings and then returned the pizza to the grill until the cheese was melted.  I also made a fruit pizza with cream cheese and maple syrup as the sauce. Yummm. While this was not on my menu plan for the week, I had everything on have, and probably only used $3 in ingredients. I will be using this crust recipe again!

Leave a Reply

