Eating Seasonally with Beet Oven Fries

I picked up my amazing weekly CSA box today. I always go online and find out what will be in the box before I get it so I can do my menu planning. I usually do really well at coming up with a plan for everything in the box, but this week I really struggled with the beets. Beets are not something we grew up eating and I just don’t really see the appeal in them…except for coloring Easter eggs. As I was searching for a recipe I had an appifanny. I figured out why my Grandma liked things like Beets, Turnips, and Rutabegga so much, it’s what there was to eat in the colder months. Her generation ate seasonally, because there wasn’t really much choice. If they wanted to eat it in later months they canned it, but they could really only get fresh produce in season.

So for the love of seasonal produce I found a simple root vegetable oven frie recipe and only used beets. This recipe is once again from one of my baby food cookbooks.

Beet Oven FriesDSC_0939

  • 4 medium sized beets cut into 1/4 in sticks
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 tsp dried Sage
  • 1 tsp dried Thyme
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp Sea Salt

Preheat oven to 500. Line a rimmed baking pan with foil and oil the pan. Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl. Once Beets are well coated with seasoning, arrange in one layer on the baking pan. Bake for 20-25 min  or until the fries are tender in the middle and start to crisp on the outside, making sure to flip them at about 10 min.DSC_0948

I enjoyed them for the most part, but my kids devoured them! I will be making them again for sure.

One response to “Eating Seasonally with Beet Oven Fries

  1. Thanks for posting this. It looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

