Garden Planning and Seed Coupon

I have been planning my garden for a couple of months and am REALLY excited to get all the summer veggies planted. Not only is it totally rewarding watching your food grow, and teaching your kids where food comes from in a really practical, fun, and dirty way, it saves so much money. (If you think you need lots of water and expensive garden boxes, watch Back to Eden. This guys methods really work, even if you don’t agree with his theology. We have a good month or two of 115 degrees and we only need to water every 7 to 10 days in the heat of summer.) So far this year planted lettuce, carrots and radishes (first fruit pictured below) in February. Then onions, strawberries, and raspberries in March. Today I planted some peas and plan to plant some corn and pumpkins later this month. Then in May and June I will really kick it into gear and plant most of the veg we will be enjoying through the summer and early fall.

DSC_0919

I’ve been thinking about what this means for my CSA box. I don’t see a need to get a weekly box if I can go out the back door and gather the food I want for dinner. So I plan on setting my box to “Vacation” when things start coming on. I can tell you I will miss out on many good things from the box that I will not have space to grow on my own, so I may occasionally get a box, as well as visit the farmers market for things like stone fruit…Yummmm.

So what am I going to do with the extra money…Save it of course. My hope is that we can go 2 months without the box being able to  save at least $175. With that I would like to buy good bulk meat (a quarter of a cow or something) for my husband and kids. They really deserve good meat more than we have it now (once or twice a week), and this would go a long way to helping that happen.

If you are planning a garden as well, don’t overlook deals on seeds. I was at Walmart today and saw a rack of Seeds of Change Organic seeds for $2.18 each. I remembered I had 2 Seeds of Change coupons for $1.50 off any Certified Organic Product, Making the seed packets $0.68 each! That’s a whole lot of Organic Produce for $0.68! Here are the links to a couple of Seeds of Change coupons.

$1.50 off any 1 Certified Organic Seeds of Change Product (See this post on how to get it at Coupons.com) Note that if you printed the coupon in March it has Reset for April, so you can print it again!

$1.50 off any 2 Certified Organic Seeds of Change Product

Leave a Reply

