Soy sauce stock up and weekly shopping trip

Last week was rough, and by the end we hardly had anything in the fridge that could be eaten without going to the store to get other stuff to make it into something. My yeast ended up being too old to make my bread rise, so I ended up breaking down and buying a loaf of bread for DSC_0759$2.99.  So for this week I started with $80.00, spent $21.80 on our weekly veggie box (I really should try to find someone to share with because I could really use those extra $3 every week) and deducted $5 for the extra spent last week, leaving me $55.21.

I first went to Grocery Outlet and spent $13.45. They had my husband’s favorite Organic Vanilla soy milk for only $2.29, and while he will only go through one this week I purchased DSC_0751two, because if you find a good deal on something you really like at Grocery Outlet you need to buy what you think you can use before the expiration date. That being said, the second one will come out of my stockup budget meaning my GO total is $11.16.

Next I went to WinCo where I spent $29.47. I did get some good deal and used $4.00 in coupons. Here are the coupon deals I got.DSC_0752

  • Mt High Yogurt $2.63 and used $1.00 off 2 peal off coupon, making them $2.13 each
  • Hormel Natural Honey Ham lunch meat for $2.98 and used $1.00 off 2 coupon making them $2.48 each
  • Kikkoman low-sodium soy sauce for $1.68 and used $1.00 off any Kikkoman product coupon making it $0.68 each

I purchased two soy sauces which will come out of my stock up budget as well as one of the hams. If you wanted regular soy sauce instead of low-sodium it would be $0.35 each after coupon. After moving some those items from my weekly budget to my stock up I spent a total of $25.63

Last I went to Trader Joe’s where I had to cut some thing out if I wanted to stay on budget. I was purchasing a great six ingredient bread there DSC_0754for only $1.99, but the last tree weeks they have not had it so I have been buying this other bread for $2.99. I’m going to have to ask if it’s just selling out before I get their of if they are no longer carrying it. I spent a total of $19.48 at Trader Joe’s making me grand total for the week $81.06. If only they had the bread I wanted, then I would have basically been on budget.

Here is my menu plan for the week:

  • Spaghetti Squash Potato and Egg Bake (I did not end up making this last week as my Dad came into town and took us to a great thai place)
  • Pasta
  • Baked Potatoes and Chili
  • Creamy Diakon Soup
  • Fajitas
  • Stir fry
  • Red beans and rice

In regard to the red beans and rice. I just grabbed the package of red beans and rice I used to use and didn’t look at it until I got home. It was loaded with all kinds of stuff I do not want to feed my family, so I will be returning it to WinCo and getting the stuff to make it myself. I found a great recipe online for red beans and brown rice. I happen to have everything but 1 lb of dried red beans and a green pepper, and I feel confident that I can get both of those things for the $2.11 the packaged stuff cost.

One response to “Soy sauce stock up and weekly shopping trip

  1. We watch our budget and eat very well. We make our own bread and yoghurt, which not only saves $$, it tastes better, too. We’ve been making our own pasta and even our own soft cheeses this year. We try to blog all of our successful experiments. (www.cutterlight.com). Thought this may be good information for you and your family.
    Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

