Shopping with what’s left of the budget, and Lara Bar deal

This weekend we made a trip to Grocery Outlet and Trader Joe’s when I was having a weak moment. I love grocery shopping with my husband, it weird I know. The only problem with it is we rarely stick to the list or budget. So with that and the fact that my friend is no longer able to share a veg box with me (I now get a weekly small box for $21.80, that’s $3.40 more than splitting a large box) I had a whopping $10.16 to spend on the things I needed to complete 7 dinners, 7 breakfasts, and 7 lunches…not to mention snacks. Good thing I have some stuff stocked up. Here is the dinner plan I came up with

  • Potato, Turnip, Leek soup that I never made last weekDSC_0648
  • A pasta dish using the Broccoli Di Cicco from my box this week
  • Butternut Squash rissotto, I don’t know how I have put this off for as long as I have
  • Grilled Pizza with homemade wholewheat pizza dough
  • Tostada’s with homemade corn tortillas
  • Spaghetti Squash, potato, egg bake
  • Stir Fried Veg and Brown rice

So I knew that I was going to have that I was going to have to do without some things and was just praying the Grocery Outlet would have some good deals for me on the things that I really needed, like mozzarella cheese, and some kind of meat to put on my husbands pizza, and organic cow milk for my daughter. And they did, I got those three  things and a plum tomato there for a total of $6.22. That meant that I had just under $4 to spend at Winco on the other things that I needed, like peanut butter. Our family cannot live a week without peanut butter. I was able to get 2 onions, a can of black olives, peanut butter, about 2 cups of dried pinto beans, and a few dry roasted peanuts from the bulk section for my son to snack on on the way home. I ended up spending $4.12. All in all, not too bad. $0.15 over budget. I was not able to get bread, which I can make, or eggs, which I cannot make. But I think I have just enough eggs to make the egg bake this week.

SAMSUNGWe did get some snacks, and lunch items on our shopping trips this weekend, so I feel like we will be ok in that area. And we have lots of frozen muffins, and oatmeal for breakfast. I did get a great deal on Lara Bars this weekend at Target. A box of 8 for $8.00. That just $1.00 a piece and no coupon needed. I purchased 3 boxes for a total of $24.00. That’s nearly half of my stock up budget for the month, but I think it was worth it. Hopefully next week I will be able to use some of the great coupons I printed out this week.

Leave a Reply

