Shopping trip and CSA Box

I did my weekly shopping this week, and I have to admit…I went over budget. I couple of things are for later weeks, but I don’t know that I would classify them as “stock up” items. First I spent $17.57 at Trader Joe’s. I didn’t get any thing special or out of the ordinary except for the sandwich bread I usually get was out of stock so I had to spend a dollar more on a less desirable loaf. Next I went to Grocery Outlet. There I spent $27.72. There a got some cheeses, Bolthouse Farms whole fruit drinks (My husband likes these for breakfast if he doesn’t have time to juice), some Whole Wheat Sourdough from a local bakery, and some Unreal Peanut Butter Cups that I will include in my husbands Valentine’s day gift. These Unjunked versions of Peanut Butter Cups were only $1.49 for a 10 pack. That is a crazy deal and Peanut Butter Cups used to be his favorite…that is  until we started eating real food, now he says that Reeses’ just taste like chemicals. He should be pleased with these treats.

Last I went to WinCo and spent $26.15 on bulk items, a few product items, yoghurt, and such. Here I used two coupons. Here are the deal I got:

  • 2 Hormel Natural Choice Honey Ham on sale for $2.98 ea. I used a coupon for $1.00 2 making them $2.48 each.
  • Mt High Plain Yoghurt for $2.48. I used a $0.50 off coupon making it $1.98 and it had a $1.00 off 2 peal off coupon on it for me to use in the future.

So that is a total of $71.44 not too bad until you add the Large veggie box that our family has all to ourselves this week, costing $36.80. The person I typically split a box with is unable to split with me anymore and I didn’t get the memo in time to change this week to a small box. That makes my weekly total $108.24. Not good! I think I can make some meals for next week out of what I have on hand, hopefully evening the overage out.DSC_0642

Speaking of the CSA (veggie) box, it was just as amazing as ever this week. I feel like I am really learning to cook with the season. I have a ton of citrus though. I need ideas on how to use these oranges and lemons in something other than dessert. If you have any ideas, let me know.

Leave a Reply

