Baby food for Dinner?

I know it sounds weird, but our whole family ate baby food for dinner tonight. Not the typical pureed peas you may be thinking of, but an Indian Dal. I’m surprised at how many recipes I actually use from my baby food cookbooks for the while family. I actually hardly ever have to adapt the recipes I find in the baby food cookbooks. I don’t know if people just don’t want to put processed food in their babies body or if the kind of people who make their own baby food don’t want to put processed food in any of their families bodies. Tonight I had been planning on snacking on left over birthday party foods, but as the party had to be canceled we did not have the foods. So I started flipping through my cookbooks…even the baby food ones…for a recipe that worked with what I had on hand. I came across this Baby’s Dal recipe in Cooking for Baby: Wholesome, homemade, delicious foods for 6 to 18 months. I followed the recipe and took some out for my 1 year old then added a bit of salt for the rest of us. We served it over brown rice and it was quite tasty. Here is the recipe

Baby’s DalDSC_0604

1/3 cup red lentils

1 carrot

3 small red potatoes

2 cups vegetable stock

1/4 tsp each curry powder, ground coriander, ground turmeric, and ground cumin

Rinse and drain the lentils. Finely chop carrots and potatoes. In a saucepan over medium-high heat, combine all ingredients. Cover, reduce heat to medium, and simmer until vegetables are tender, about 20 min. Stir every 5 min and check to make sure stock is not all absorbed and add more if necessary.

The ingredients are really inexpensive and the meal is really filling and delicious. Enjoy!

One response to “Baby food for Dinner?

  1. Pingback: WinCo Bulk and today’s deals | The Whole Deal Blog

Leave a Reply

