Persimmon Gingerbread

As I said before my son got a cold this holiday (I think in part because of the amount of sugar he was eating), so I was trying to think of a holiday treat that would be tasty good for us too. I came up with Persimmon Gingerbread. Honey, Ginger, and Persimmons (I still had a ton from my last CSA box, and yes I did bring them on vacation with me) are great for a cold and gingerbread is great for the holidays. I found a recipe online to adapt. Here is the original. Here is my adaptation.

DSC_0442

1 1/2 whole wheat bread flour

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup persimmon pulp

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup honey

1/2 cup coconut oil (in liquid state)

2 large eggs

1 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 inch finely grated fresh ginger

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Grease a 9x4x3-in loaf pan and set aside

In a small bowl, whisk together persimmon pulp and baking soda. This will thicken the pulp a bit.

In a large bowl whisk together flour and salt.

Make a well int he four and add honey, oil, eggs, spices, and fresh ginger. Then add persimmon mixture. Incorporate all ingredients until no flour remains. Pour into the loaf pan and place in the oven.

Bake loaf for 40-50 min, until skewer inserts in the loaf and comes out clean. Allow to cool in loaf pan for 15 min before serving.

Leave a Reply

