Real Holiday Treats

I am having a hard time avoiding the beloved holiday treats. I do love chocolate and peppermint together, but I know that the classic peppermint bark is not really doing me any favors. In searching for some real options I came across a Lara bar product that I am going to order from 41iVVU8Ly2L._SY450_amazon.  They are $20.99 for a box of 16, so a bit pricy, but I have not been able to find them locally to get a deal on. I’m not sure where it will fit in my budget, but I plan on bringing one of these with me to all of the Christmas parties, as well as our trip to Oregon, so I am less tempted to eat all of the sweets that make me feel so bad the next day.

I am also looking for some good recipes to bring to parties and give as gifts. We received a load of persimmons in our last CSA box so I will most likely be making some persimmon bread/muffins/cookies. I made some great Whole Wheat, Persimmon, Ricotta, scones this week. Here is the link to the recipe. I did sub spelt flour for the all-purpose and maple syrup for the natural sugar.

I could really use a recipe for some classic Christmas cookies. I’ve always made this awesome shortbread. Sure it’s three simple ingredients, but two out of the three are white flour and white sugar. I would really like to find an alternative this year. If you have awesome Christmas baking recipes I would love for you to share them with me!

Leave a Reply

