Success, Failure, and a Happy Accident

I tried some new recipes this week which is always fun. I made the Pomegranate Jelly and it was a disaster. Let’s just say I have Pomegranate Syrup. It tastes good though. I mixed it into some plain yogurt this morning and it was tasty, but not jammy.

I also made a Fennel Turnip Soup that was great this is the link to the original recipe. Listed below is how I altered it:

DAIRY-FREE CREAM OF TURNIP AND FENNEL SOUP 

yield about 2 1/2 qt

1 large turnips, peeled and diced
1 fennel bulb, chopped
1 large onion, chopped
2 medium potatoes, chopped
3 garlic cloves, crushed and chopped
1/3 c brown rice
olive oil
8 c water
2 tsp dry thyme
salt and pepper to taste
Parmesan cheese to top

Heat oven to 425* and get out a big roasting pan or cookie sheet.
Wash and prepare turnips and fennel, and put in baking pan with a little olive oil.  Roast for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally, or until vegetables are golden, tender, and roasty toasty.
While vegetables roast, heat olive oil over medium-low heat in a large stockpot.  Add onions and garlic, and saute, covered for 5-8 minutes.  Make sure they do not burn, you just want them golden and caramelly.
Add brown rice and saute a few minutes, then add about 8 c of water.  Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer, then cook for 20-25 minutes, until rice is totally tender.
Add roasted vegetables to pot, scraping out any caramelly bits from the pan into the pot (add a bit of hot liquid from the pot to the roasting pan and swish around to get out anything tasty you can’t scrape out).   Let soup cook about 5 minutes to flavor through.
Using an immersion blender or blender, blend soup in batches until totally smooth and creamy, adding additional water/stock as necessary.
Return soup to pot,  thyme, and salt and pepper to taste.  Heat through, then serve.

I also made Banana “Ice Cream” (frozen banana’s pureed with about 2 Tbsp Almond milk) as a treat tonight and thought it would be nice to have some chocolate sauce on top. So I warmed up some coconut oil and added cocoa powder. Then after I started to pour the sauce on I realized I had just made natural Magic Shell. I was AMAZING. Next time I think I will add a sweetener to the sauce, maybe a bit of maple syrup, but all in all, we were very pleased.

In other news, our CSA box comes tomorrow. I’ll post pictures of our lovely bounty.

Leave a Reply

