This weeks CSA box

This is the wonderful reason I had to reserve some of my weekly budget for later in the week. There is soooo much good stuff in my CSA box this week.

For those of you who don’t know, CSA stands for Community Supported Agriculture. Typically a group of Farmers get together to provide fresh local and most often organic produce to their local community. The CSA program we take part in also offers local eggs, meat, dairy, nuts and seeds, along with the local produce as “add-ons” to our weekly box.

There are many benefits to being part of a weekly CSA box, even financial ones. I choose to split a large box with a friend (pictured is just my half) because it’s less expensive than getting a small box for my family ($18.40 vs. 21.80) and we get a bit more variety this way. There are weeks that the box is full of stuff that I think would be less expense to buy at the grocery store, but weeks like this one it is totally worth it. With the addition of the 20lbs pomegranates we got for just $6.00 or 10lbs of apples for $7.70o it makes it way more than worth it. If I were not part of the CSA program I would not have access to these great deals. It is also a really great way to find new great foods. This week upcoming week I plan on making a Fennel Turnip soup. Now I just need to figure out what I’m gonna do with these small green figs and the large amount of basil (I don’t want to spend the money on pine nuts to make my own pesto).

Leave a Reply

